Mandatory retirement age for United Methodist clergy is 72 years old, but many go straight from being in active service to serving as supply pastors to local churches. Sometimes a decade after retirement, that person is still preaching a sermon every Sunday. The following retirees are all 80 years old or older, and still serving the church. They were recognized during the opening introductions at Annual Conference Session.
  1. Kenneth Burres — CMU professor
  2. William Campbell — Bucklin/Mt. Zion
  3. Kenneth Cleeton — Mineola
  4. James Crooks — Jefferson Ave., Moberly
  5. Dorothy Cutler — Stover
  6. Marilyn Dorst — Altamont
  7. Thomas Freeman — Rich Hill
  8. Ura Hardin — Norwood
  9. Theodore Hepner — Lathrop
  10. Nancy Hollingsworth — Hermatite, Victoria
  11. Joan Keiser — Rogersville
  12. Donald Kuehle — Whitewater
  13. Lois McRill — Bertrand
  14. Lowell Mize — Jerico Springs
  15. Robert Simon — Pleasant Hill
  16. James Smith — Dadeville
  17. Royal Speidel — Russellville
  18. Crystal Wicks — Bethel
Those present came onto stage. The youngest clergy in the Conference also came on stage to shake their hands — Cody Oshel, 23, serving Stanberry UMC, and Katilyn Walker, 22, serving as associate pastor at Linn Memorial UMC.