Bishop Farr Assigned to Missouri Again


The South Central Jurisdiction of the United Methodist Church reassigned Bishop Bob Farr to the Missouri Episcopal Area today. Bishop Farr was elected and assigned to Missouri in 2016. Terms are typically four years, but the pandemic prevented the Jurisdictional Conference from convening as scheduled in 2020. Bishops typically serve an area for two four-year terms, but may serve up to three four-year terms before moving or retiring.

“Susan and I are thrilled to be reassigned to Missouri,” Bishop Farr said. “I am excited about the future of our Annual Conference and have been proud of our shared ministry over the past six years.”

Episcopal assignments begin on January 1, 2023, and continue, presumably, until the SCJ gathers again in 2024. The assignments announced this evening are as follows:
  • Bishop-elect Laura Merrill: Arkansas Annual Conference
  • Bishop-elect David Wilson: Great Plains Annual Conference
  • Bishop-elect Dee Williamston: Louisiana Annual Conference
  • Bishop Robert Farr: Missouri Annual Conference
  • Bishop Jimmy Nunn: Oklahoma Annual Conference and Oklahoma Indian Missionary Annual Conference and will provide coverage for the Northwest Texas Annual Conference
  • Bishop Ruben Saenz: Central Texas and North Texas annual conferences
  • Bishop Robert Schnase: Rio Texas Annual Conference and will provide coverage for the New Mexico Annual Conference
  • Bishop Cynthia Harvey: Texas Annual Conference