BOM Retirement Information

If you are planning to seek any of these status changes at the next Annual Conference session, the Board of Ordained Ministry reminds you to be mindful of the deadlines stated in the 2016 Book of Discipline. For questions concerning any of these clergy status changes, please contact:

Phone: 573-777-1211
Email: Terri Swan, Chair of BOM
Email: Trudy McManus, Clergy Relations and Benefits Administrator

Instructions for Retirement Requests

Read Paragraph 357 of the 2016 Book of Discipline:  “... Requests for retirement shall be stated in writing to the bishop, cabinet and board of ordained ministry at least 120 days prior to the date on which retirement is to be effective ...”

Make your retirement request to Bishop Farr, your District Superintendent and Terri Swan. Please copy your request to Trudy at the Conference Office.

Instructions for Voluntary Leave of Absence (VLOA)

Read Paragraphs 353:  “The written request for this relationship should be made at least 90 days prior to the annual conference session, giving specific reasons for the request ...”

Make your VLOA request to Buck Cueni-Smith, Conference Relations Chair. Please copy your request to Trudy McManus at the Conference Office, Terri Swan and your District Superintendent.

Instructions for those returning to active service from VLOA

Read Paragraph 353.11: “When an end to the leave of absence is requested by the probationary, associate, or full member in the case of a voluntary leave of absence, and by the district superintendents in the case of an involuntary leave of absence, it shall be by written request at least six months prior to the session of the annual conference ...” 

Make your request for ending VLOA (after reading 353.11 carefully) to be Buck Cueni-Smith, Conference Relations Chair. Please copy your request to Trudy McManus at the Conference Office, Terri Swan and your District Superintendent.

Health Benefits Questions

If you have questions about health benefits in retirement, contact Trudy McManus at the Conference Office.