2017 Agenda

REMARKABLE: Identified as Extraordinary

2017 Annual Conference Agenda

June 9-12, 2017

Meetings, workshops, exhibits, and worship services will be held in the Trade Center, the Expo Center, the Convention Center, the University Plaza, or the Juanita K. Hammons Center for the Performing Arts. Locations will be noted in the agenda below by the use of the following site abbreviations:

(TC) Trade Center

(UP) University Plaza

(EC) Expo Center

(JKH) Juanita K. Hammons Center for the Performing Arts

(CC) Convention Center


6:00 p.m.

Usher/Hospitality Team Training (EC)

7:00 p.m.

Pre-Conference Workshop with Brad Thie (Illinois, UP)

Sponsored by the Core Practices Team


8:00 a.m.

Registration opens (TC)

Registration is in the Upper Trade Center beyond the exhibits. Name tags are placed in alphabetical order. Please pick up your name tags, workbook (if ordered) and bonus materials. After registering, please take time to browse the exhibit hall.

10:30 a.m.

Welcome and Open

"And Are We Yet Alive"

Bishop Robert Farr

Opening Worship

Rev. Charity Goodwin
Missouri (Columbia)

11:30 a.m.

Opening Business (EC)

Call to Order

Bishop Robert Farr

Establishing the Bar

Rev. Monica Jefferson, Conference Secretary

Office of Connectional Ministries

Rev. Kim Jenne


Rev. Kim Jenne

Report from Sessions

Rev. Marsha West Eichler, Chair

Values Report

Rev. Shelia Bouie-Sledge, Chair and Mabel Unser

Standing Rules Report

Wendy Hildenbrand, Chair

Constitutional Amendment overview

Brian Hammons, General Conference Delegation Chair

Nominations Report

Rev. Jeremy Vickers, Chair

12:15 p.m.

Lunch Break

2:00 p.m.

Bishop's Message

Bishop Robert Farr

Center for Congregational Excellence

Rev. Roger Ross

3:15 p.m.


3:30 p.m.

Clergy Session (EC) and Laity Session (UP)

4:30 p.m.

Retirement Service Rehearsal (EC)

5:00 p.m.

Commissioning and Memorial Service Rehearsal (EC)

5:15 p.m.

Laity Social (Colorado, UP)

7:15 p.m.

Ordination Rehearsal (JKH)


7:45 a.m.


8:00 a.m.

Business Session (EC)

Laity Address

Amy Thompson, Conference Lay Leader

Center for Pastoral Excellence

Rev. Karen Hayden, Director

Board of Ordained Ministry

Rev. Bruce Baxter

Office of Mission, Service and Justice

Rev. Tina Harris, Director

Mozambique Initiative

Rev. Yvi Martin, Chair
Craig Stevenson, MI Coordinator

Global Connect

Rev. Lucas Endicott, Missional Strategist

Office of Finance and Administration

Rev. Nate Berneking, Director

Clergy Support Team

Tom Ventura, Chair

Board of Trustees

Ivan James, Chair

Finance and Administration

Rev. Sherri Swanson, Chair

Conference Advance Specials

Rev. Jennifer Long, Chair

Missouri United Methodist Foundation

David Atkins, Executive Director

Awards Presentation

Rev. Kim Jenne

10:15 a.m.


10:30 a.m.

Celebration of Ministry: Commissioning and Memorial Service (EC)

12:00 p.m.


1:45 p.m.

Gathering Music

2:00 p.m.

Business Session (EC)

Retirement Service

Office of Next Generation Ministries

Rev. Jeff Baker, Director

Central Methodist University

Dr. Roger Drake

3:35 p.m.


4:00 p.m.

Small Membership Church Plenary (EC)

Rev. Jeremy Vickers & Rev. Kevin McNeely


Workshops (CC, UP)

5:00 p.m.

Dinner Break

7:00 p.m.

Gathering Music (JKH)

La Croix UMC Musicians

7:30 p.m.

Service of Ordination (JKH)

Rev. Ron Watts
La Croix (Cape Girardeau)

(Immediately following the Ordination service there will be a brief rehearsal for Sunday Morning Worship.)


6:45 a.m.

Eleventh Annual United Methodist Women’s Walk for Mission Giving (EC)

9:00 a.m.

Bishop's Learning Time (JKH)
"Relentlessly Focused on Discipleship"

Rev. Junius Dotson, General Secretary, Discipleship Ministries

10:00 a.m.


10:30 a.m.

Sunday Morning Worship Service (JKH)

Rev. Junius Dotson, General Secretary, Discipleship Ministries

12:00 p.m.

Lunch Break

2:00-3:00 p.m.

Workshops (CC, UP, Grace UMC)

3:30 p.m.


3:30-4:30 p.m.

Workshops (CC, UP, Grace UMC)

6:00 p.m.

Sunday Night Event: A Celebration Toast to Bishop and Susan Farr (CC)

Music by Rose Ridge


7:45 a.m.

Gathering Music

8:00 a.m.

Bishop's Learning Time

Bishop Robert Farr

9:00 a.m.

Business Session (EC)

Final Consideration of the Budget and CFA items

Rev. Sherri Swanson, Chair of Finance & Administration
Rev. Nate Berneking, Director of Finance & Administration

Final Consideration of Rules and Procedures

Wendy Hildenbrand, Chair

Final Consideration of Nominations

Rev. Jeremy Vickers, Chair

Constitutional Amendment Vote

Bishop Robert Farr

United Methodist Women

Kathy Rolen, President

United Methodist Men

Bill Mooney, President

Praying Our Way Forward

Bishop Mutti, Rev. Cody Collier

Chancellor's Report

Larry Tucker, Conference Chancellor

Report of the Sessions Committee

Rev. Marsha West Eichler, Chair

Report of the Episcopacy Committee

Brian Hammons, Chair

10:25 a.m.


10:35 a.m.

Sending Forth Service with the Fixing of Appointments & Holy Communion